Just thought of something! Books I’ve read and will read for the year! :)

Okay, so I think it would be interesting and cool to do some reading this year that isn’t strictly for school purposes.

Before the end of last semester I bought Jordin Tootoo’s autobiography, “All The Way” I just looked up at it, I hid it under some stuff on the shelf in my closet because after I read it I got really super sad!

So I bought it before finals even started and I had a whole stack of assignments to finish and I was just so overwhelmed and wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to pull the semester off! I was freaking out, but anyhow, was in Costco, saw the book, had heard it was a good book from a few of my friends and I thought, I want to read this anyway because I already just love Jordin Tootoo, so I bought it. I told myself, you can read this AFTER you get done this semester as a treat to yourself of some sort.

So I survived the semester, got everything done, had a good cry to let out my crazy frustrations from the crazy semester I had and got comfortable to read his book. It’s a short book, I think I read it in a few days, I couldn’t just sit and read it because it was a busy time of year, with Christmas and all, but I did make time for it and I finished it really fast.

It’s a good story! don’t get me wrong, I think I hid it so I wouldn’t think about it anymore though. The story is of his life, not just about hockey, but there’s a lot about hockey in it, but it’s about his struggles, his family life, his addictions, his love and his brother Terence.

The part about suicide was what really got to me. My friend, who I took like a little sister, Galena, committed suicide a few years back, I don’t know why I can never remember the exact day or year, probably because I don’t like to remember.

Galena was younger than me, I met her when I started to sing with the Kainai Grassland Singers, a traditional/contemporary First Nations singing group led by my good friend Olivia Tailfeathers, I joined a group of girls who already knew one another really well and I was older than most of them, but each one of them have become some of my best friends, we don’t see each other often or keep in touch that closely other than Facebook, but I love them all just as much as I did back then.

Galena was a Mom, she had 2 young children and she was pregnant with her 3rd baby. The last time I seen her was in the mall, she came up to me and gave me a big hug as she always did and had a big smile on her face, telling jokes and being silly. She was always up for some laughs, always telling a crazy story and smiling! I can still see her big beautiful smile right now. But she told me, “I need to talk to you, I need you right now, I’m going through some tough times and I know you’ll make me feel better” and I told her I would, that I would go see her and we could talk more, then we went on our way, it was busy in the mall that day for some reason. And then I didn’t go see her, life got busy. I don’t know why I didn’t go see her, I’m not even sure how much time went by from that last time I seen her until I got the news that she had committed suicide. It’s not really something that I want to go into too much detail with because I guess I didn’t think I would be thinking about this with my new blog. But my heart broke into a gazillion pieces that day and I don’t think your heart ever fully heals from the loss of such a beautiful person. I love her, she was a beautiful soul.

So for many reasons Jordin Tootoo’s book really got to my heart, but he talks about overcoming his addictions and I finished the book and ended up feeling really inspired by him. He is a very determined individual and he was just so real and impactful with his book. Honest and fearless. He is a hero for many reasons and I think I’ll always be a Tootoo fan, no matter who he plays for, I’m not a hardcore hockey fan, my other favourite hockey player is Rene Bourque, he’s awesome and I got to meet him too a few years back. But Tootoo is one tough dude and I love to watch him fight on the ice.

So that was the last book that I read in 2014 and I don’t really know which book I’ll read next! But I will find one and read it and share it on my blog! So that’s that for now! First day of blogging and this is my 3rd post already! woot woot. Take care whoever reads this someday or never, I’m doing this mostly for me anyway! 🙂 But tell your friends and family you love them every chance you get, life changes in a heart beat. I love you Galena! I know you knew that though, that gives my heart some peace.

Leave a Reply

