New skin??

New Skin

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “New Skin.”

So I’m new to blogging, but somehow came across this writing prompt, new skin.

I’m a First Nations woman from the Kainai Nation. We are located in southern Alberta, Canada, we are east of the beautiful Rocky Mountains, protected for generations and generations by the amazing Chief Mountain. No matter where I go, no matter how long it’s been, I always feel most safe when I can see the Chief. I am connected to this physical space. I always feel best when I am here. It’s a connection I can’t really explain, but I’m sure some of you have felt this connection wherever you are from.

So the question is something about who’s “skin” or other person would you like to live as for a whole year, something like that, well I have always wanted to know what it would have been like to have lived here before European contact as a Kainaikii (Kainai woman). I know it would be so completely different and I can’t fully imagine what my role would be like. I am sure it would have it’s plus side and it’s down side. Nonetheless I think it would be cool.

It would be interesting to speak fluent Blackfoot, to have to live in a tipi and see the buffalo all across the prairie. It would be hard as well, but I would know what my People were truly like in their traditional state of existence.

Leave a Reply

